Final Rule on Mandatory GHG Reporting

On September 22, 2009, the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) issued a final rule for mandatory reporting of greenhouse gases (GHGs) from large GHG emissions sources in the United States.

This reporting rule will provide a better understanding of where GHGs are coming from and will guide development of the policies and programs to reduce emissions.

This national reporting requirement will provide EPA with GHG emissions data from facilities that emit 25,000 metric tons or more of carbon dioxide (CO2) per year, including suppliers of fossil fuels or industrial greenhouse gases, and manufacturers of vehicles and engines.

This action includes final reporting requirements for 31 of the 42 emission sources listed in the proposal.  EPA continues to consider comments and options for the remaining source categories.

The following source and supply categories are not required to report at this time:

  • Electronics manufacturing
  • Ethanol production
  • Fluorinated GHG production
  • Food processing
  • Industrial landfills
  • Magnesium production
  • Oil and natural gas systems
  • SF6 from electrical equipment
  • Underground coal mines
  • Wastewater treatment
  • Suppliers of coal

Detailed information and text of the final rule is available on the EPA's website.